When I Held the Sunfish

ceiling

Years ago there was an old man, a street person, who lived in a park near me

He was a crazy husk of a human and he carried many burdens

Packages of bound up newspapers and slabs of brown corrugated cardboard

These items were always carried and constantly adjusted by him even as

He walked, half stooped over, in circles on the hottest days and the coldest days

I do not wish to end up as he was so

I think I’ll give back some of the burdens of my life

From my childhood take my mother who was not in her right mind

Each day a cruel adventure that strangely she seemed to enjoy

Bright moments of her love were so rare as to appear as mirages

I give back all those school years when I felt forever an outsider

High school was just about the worst four years of my life

I give back my religious upbringing

It taught me to hate myself, to hate others and to fear God

Only by embracing a lie would I ever get membership into

The Club Of Heaven

I give back my life with two of the women I have known

The rest were kind to me

Take back the time when my dog got run over

Please take my father’s detachment

I believe he tried but it was not enough

And please take back the night of our first son’s death

No bittersweet poetic images of imagined possibilities

Will ever make up for my haunted soul all these years

Nothing could make his death worthwhile even as a learning experience

Take back this emerald city and what it has done to my past

Once upon a time it could be so much more than it is

But instead it settled for shining, stupid greed

Take back the anger of my youth

Take back my cruelty to others and to myself

A true regret I carry, I fear, to the end

Take back my shallowness to those who tried to love me

Take back my unkindness towards friends and strangers

Receive my dark pessimism and also my unbridled optimism

Each was without merit in the end

Take back most of my life and leave me spaces in between thoughts

May I not  drag behind me parcels of unopened wishes and gifts of unknown things

Give me back the sunfish and the bright shining water

I stood on the bank of the river with my brother and father

And I watched the sunfish I held in my hand and

All that would come my way could be nothing but good

This amazing little life in my hand proved it

For I was a child and did not know better

And then I gently put my hand back into the river and

Watched as the sunfish swam away

Carrying nothing but the moment

Leave a comment